It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

Considering the current state of affairs, many can surmise that being aware of world issues is paramount in our day-to-day lives. However, the news resources selection has been a contentious and touchy subject. There are various approaches to this goal, such as newspapers, journals, and TV news. One viewpoint emphasizes that getting informed by news presented by people who are different from our point of view is far better than vice versa, while others contend that watching news presented by those whose views are similar to our own is better. Despite the vast array of views, I count myself among the proponent of the former idea, and I concur with that. I will delve into some reasons to substantiate my response in the following.

The first and foremost reason, which deserves some words to say, is that personal growth occurs only in an opposite atmosphere. When we attempt to focus on news, which is the same as ours, we will not get aware of the conflicts. Thus, it will not be helpful to expand our knowledge about one topic. For instance, if I spend time on news that is favorable for me to hear, I will continue to the pathway that media build for me. I have gotten some knowledge in some topics for many years, and following that, I surfed on waves of compatible news. Therefore, in this case, conflicts and challenges would not exist to push me for learning. To illustrate this, my father, who has criticized the government’s laws the whole of his life, after a few years of following news of opposite opinions, could better decide his way of thinking. It is noteworthy that his new opinions are closer to the truth. He always considers that he would not understand the truth if he did not break his resistance against listening or watching the opposite ones.

Even though the reasoning and explanation above provide ample substantiation for my stance on the matter, there is yet another equally important reason to be mentioned. The second compelling reason complements the first reason. Even though being in an agreed atmosphere is helpful to be encouraged and strengthened our ideas, it cannot help us explore our ideas from different angles. When politicians or professors criticize our ideas, we can get familiar with our flaws.

This can aid in knowing them and if they are not logical, try to fill those holes.

In summary, I can safely conclude that following new which are opposite to our ideas offers gigantic advantages over the other choice, and it is far superior to the second one. This is because not only does it help to get aware of the other side of our opinions, but also it can be useful to change or improve our views about topics.