It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts
This is important to understand the idea and concept of any new thing which we want to learn or understand rather
than to mug up it. We should know the concept behind the things it will help us memorize it for lifetime.
If we understands the things it will last long with us and help us to resolve the real time problems. We are going
to school for our mental development and our course curriculum also designed as same way so students can do their
mental development if they are attending the school. In our day today life we are facing many problems which we
can resolve by relating them with the ideas we read in our books, and it can be possible only if we understood
that idea rather than just mug up it. The real time example we can take "mathematics formulas". Mathematics is
having lots of formulas to resolve the problem. it is very difficult to learn all of them and apply them on
appropriate place if you don't have understanding of their derivations or the idea behind them.
If a person won't understand the concept and try to memorize them without understanding the logic behind them they
can get good marks in their school test but they will fail to get marks in other standardized competitive exams
because of two reason first they may be confuse due to more syllabus second most probably they are fail to relate
them on appropriate place. I have a live example on that my class topper had just mug up the things without
understanding and got good marks in exams but after 2 or 3 days of exams if someone asked her something she won't
be answerable.
Understanding the ideas and concept helps us in our mental development and makes us creative. It helps to built our
analytical skill which is really required to become a successful human being.