Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples.

In the modern era, advances in science lead to an immense growth in the quantities of projects which have been assigned to the students and as a result, students' projects will be marked, which can be interpreted as an objective measurement of their knowledge. One of the most challenging problems on which there is no consensus among university managers is about assessing students' functions in a group. Opinions' are divided as to whether students in a group should get their score equally, or educators should be judged based on their own efforts. When it comes to me, it is my firm conviction that everyone has the capability of taking his/her responsibilities not further, and students should be scored separately from others' functions.

First and foremost, experiences have proved that there is always someone in a group who gets a free ride and does not contribute appropriately. In consequence, the other members of the group undergo lots of pressure to complete their assignment before the deadline, which will intensify the nervousness and anxiety of students eventually. The more stress, students tolerate, the more mistakes they will make in the project. Take my personal experience as a compelling example, a couple of years ago, when I was studying in my master's I was assigned a paper related to the effects of technology on travel behaviors and because this subject dealt with eclectic kind of expertise my professor decided to put us in a group of five for this specific project. At first glance, it was an accurate decision; however, this accuracy did not last. As each of us was professional in one aspect of the project, we divided the project into five different tasks, regardless of their contents. What happened was that one of the members complained about the time she had spent on modeling, which was her task exclusively, and gave up the project when there was no substitute for her. As it was a team working, we got the same score individually, and if it were not for her selfishness, we would have defended our project vigorously.

Another worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that unfortunately, in team-work overbearing students try to take control of everything even if they are wrong, and this is disruptive to others' efforts undoubtedly. For instance, I am working as a research assistant at my university with other peers. In one of the researches which was of great importance to my professor one of the students who has a superficial understanding of that subject but a bossy personality, took control of all of us and made the ambiance of our group unbearable. As it was predicted, the result was inaccurate enough to lose all our opportunity in Ph.D., and as it was a team working not only the professor did not accept our excuses but also that student did not confess to his mistakes.

In summary of what has been illustrated and discussed in detail, it is a foregone conclusion that the benefits of scoring students independently overweight the disadvantages. The fact that not all the

students intervene in the projects, coupled with the overbearing personality of some students in team-work is the reason which strengthens my claim.