In order to attract more tourists, the government could either improve safety by hiring more police or improve its appearance by repairing old buildings and streets. Which way do you think is more effective?

In today's modern and sophisticated world, the tourist industry plays a vital role in societies' success. In this connection, governments should dedicate money to improve countries to become appealing to foreign visitors. Although contested by many that the matter of repairing old buildings is highly beneficial, such an issue is regarded as both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I concur with the notion that governments should hire police officers to enhance the safety of cities, and I will analyze my reasons throughout this essay.

First, tourists are inclined to visit the places which allow them to spend their time without feeling worries; thus, hiring more police can fulfill their demands. To be more specific, there is a direct correlation between safety in the region and police officers that are hired there. For example, when I went to Paris two years ago, a rubber stole my bag. Therefore, I had a hard time on my entire trips. Although Paris is a beautiful city, I won't go there again because I did not feel safe there; moreover, I felt stressed when I walked in the streets. If the government had increased the number of police, I would not have experienced anxiety, thereby visiting the city in the future, which improves its tourism industry.

Second, old buildings display the culture and history of cities, so governments should strive to preserve their genuine appearance instead of repairing them, which causes changes in their shapes. To elucidate, many historical buildings and streets have specific and innovative architectures, which cannot be repaired again since modern people do not have enough knowledge to know how to renovate them without altering their original structure. According to my own experience, when I was a member of a civil company, we asked to repair the historical bath in Kashan. Although our group contained professional engineers, we could not improve this building without causing damage. The bath had extraordinary features, and it was warm with just one candle; however, renovation destroyed the candle. As a result, this city lost a host of tourists tending to visit the fascinating phenomenon there.

To conclude, while there are several arguments on each side, I profoundly believe that it is a great asset for governments to increase the police to attract tourists instead of repairing old buildings. Not only do visitors prefer to have a trip to safe places, but they also want to visit old buildings with their original materials and structures.