People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

At the 20th and 21st centuries, with the development of human’s modern society, more and more people tend to work hardly. There is no doubt that one of the most significant reasons of working is accumulating a horde of money to experience independent life. Actually, people’s attitudes toward the reasons for working are widely varied from person to person. In my vantage point, developing social skills as well as improving self-esteem motivates people to work.

The first aspect to point out is that what provokes people to choose a job is improving their social skills. As a matter of fact, the human being is by nature gregarious. It is crystal-clear that in a workplace, people can get familiar with the different person who has diverse viewpoints; also, they can make new friends, spend time with each other and share their ideas. Consider companies which provide some opportunities for its employees to travel abroad for the mission. Not only can they broaden their horizon by socializing with experts, but also they can cement their relationship with their friends during the expedition. To illustrate more, even at the beginning of the trip in order to shed their fears of being in an airplane, for example, they can start a conversation with their colleagues and discuss how they can seize opportunities that are provided for the company in the competitive market or how they can make headway in a long run. Therefore, they can fortify their social skills by working.

Another subtle point is that people can fortify their self-esteem through working. Undoubtedly, in today modern world with its galloping progress, jobs are being specialized and complicated so much so that everyone in charge of a particular job should enjoy a great amount of experience in that field, so working provides an opportunity for people to prove their abilities and feel pleased with themselves. According to recent research conducted in my country, psychologists are in the conviction that person who works 40 hours in a week are by far more confident than an unemployed person. In my own experience, when I graduated from university I could not find a job for 2 years and I had difficult times in that period of time, because I felt that I was a useless person for my society; however, being hired in a company can effectively boosted my moral, and I little by little learned how to struggle for my dreams. That is to say, the sense of accomplishment which is gained from making progress in a job can raise their self-esteem.