Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

After entering the internet era, we almost cannot live without the internet, making the internet as important as other public infrastructures, such as roads. Under this circumstance, some people hold the view that governments should offer internet access to all of their citizens at no cost. However, in my opinion, I think it is unreasonable to require governments to provide internet service for free just because it has the same importance as other public resources, moreover, its features make it unlikely for governments to provide internet access to all of their citizens.

What should be prioritized is that those public resources like roads are not provided for us at no cost. It is known that we pay tax, a small part of our salaries, to governments and taxes is the money that governments use to construct infrastructure facilities for us. Therefore, internet access cannot be supplied to us for free too since it costs a considerable amount of money to build and governments need our money to do so.

What should be equally mentioned is that the internet service is more personal and customized than other public resources, which makes it hard to be provided for free. To begin with, the internet service providers need to transmit the data requested by you to your phone or computer, which can be compared to delivering what you want to purchase from the supermarket to your home instead of just laying them on shelves in the supermarket. What can be known from this analogy is that the internet service is a personal and superior service. In the contrast, other public services like roads are more public. In detail, there is no need for governments and construction companies to build a road leading to where you want to go. Moreover, the internet service is a customized service due to the different requirements of different people. To be more specific, a video game streamer needs an internet service having a big bandwidth to support a high resolution like 4k in his live stream while a writer only needs internet access to surf on the internet, collecting writing materials. Due to the different requirements of people mentioned above, the internet providers need to build routes accordingly which costs huge amounts of money.

Admittedly, while it is still a hard thing for most governments to supply their residents with internet service for free, some developed countries' governments have the capability to provide basic internet service to residents at no cost. For example, Singapore has launched a plan to cover the whole country with wireless internet service and provide basic internet service for their citizens for free, which is a promising plan.

To conclude, I think there is no need for governments to provide internet access to their residents due to its rising importance while it is a good envision to have free internet access covering every place across the world.