qualities of a good neighbor?

“neighbors play the major roles in educating social skills as well as the moral values” Tara Westover, Educated, 2018. Are neighbors important in our lives? As far as I am concerned, a good neighbor should have various positive characteristics such as altruistic, respectful, and kindness. In the following, I am inclined to put forth some arguments to illustrate the concept.

First and foremost, a good neighbor should be an altruistic person. According to the various studies, the characteristic helps people to concrete their relationship and make new friends. Indeed, being altruistic or helpful promotes people to trust each other. Because of this fact that the neighbors are the first people who can help in a difficult situation such as medical accidents, being altruistic is an important quality. Thus, this characteristic not only increases people’s trust but also helps them to concrete their relationships.

Another quality coming to the mind is respectfulness. By and large, respecting for others’ privacy or rights is one of the part-and-parcel characteristics in a social interaction. In fact, a good neighbor does not infringe others’ rights, on the other hand, he or she tries to respect the neighbors’ rights and laws. The fact of the matter is that such relationships are mutual. Hence by respecting <span style="background-color: rgb(246, 213, 217);">for </span>the rights, they can obstacle the possible conflicts between them.

Last but not least, there is a conventional wisdom that a good neighbor should be kind and compassionate. From psychological points of view, kindness expands people’s trust as well as improve their communication skills. For instance, according to the official citizens’ guidance in the UK, being compassionate reduces people’s stresses in their communication, furthermore, it helps them to have better control over their social skills. Therefore, it seems that a good neighbor has a great influence on the people’s behavior.

In conclusion, although some people believe that the neighbors do not play a major role in our lives, I think they have a staple role. In sum, they should have various characteristics such as being altruistic, kind, and respectful which help people to bolster their relationships. If the neighbors had tried to have such qualities, the society would not have had deep social problems.