Question :Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is generally assumed that develop many skills make a person more successful, keeping this in perspective, whether someone is be able to learn many skills and use them or not has always been a much-debated argument. Despite this argument asserts that people with different skills are more likely to success, I believe otherwise, maintaining that developing one skill as a maximum ability is more useful and also time saving.

First and most obvious, we cannot lose sight of the fact that, when someone develop one ability in a high level, obviously it is more practical. Strictly speaking, people spend their effort to learn a skill much better anyone else, and it is more likely to get a job which no one can do it. The best example that fits in this argument is, a scholar who work in lab and is able to do experiment that other scientists never can do it is more successful. It leaves no doubt that learned an ability is more practical and useful despite knowing a lot of things but not useful.

Another equally important point to consider is, people spend a lot of time to learn many skills but never could be useful. In essence, spending a great deal of time on several thing without any focusing to reach to a useful ability it's just time wasting. For the purpose of illustration, let's take the example of, a person who spend their whole life to learn many abilities, but none of them help to find a job. It goes without saying learning one perfect ability is more time saving on life.

In the final analysis, although some might contend that learning more skills as much as someone can, is very beneficial, I take issue with them and said this mind set is nothing but a tunnel vision that fail to consider the importance of people live their life just once and life is too short to spend our precious time on many impractical things. In the grand scheme of things, it behooves people find their interest and try to be a master on that.