Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the internet plays a major role in individuals' lives in a wide variety of aspects. In my opinion, governments should provide free internet access for all of their citizens because not only can it improves their knowledge but also it saves people's time as well. The following paragraphs will aptly elucidate my perspective.

To begin with, there is a great deal of valuable information on the internet which people can have access to them in order to increase their knowledge and expand their horizon. So beneficial is this information that it will change people's lives positively; therefore, governments should offer free internet access. From a graduate student point of view, free internet enables the student to search on the internet in order to find numerous articles and books which help them to do their research well. An example will illustrate this viewpoint much better. When I was at university, I had free access to the internet, for I did my research without any kinds of problems. Then, because of COVID-19 pandemic, our university has been closed until further notice, for this, since I cannot afford to buy internet, and our government did not offer use the free internet, I cannot do my research. As a result, if our government provided us internet with no cost, I would do my assignment without any problem.

Furthermore, It is established beyond doubt that one the one hand, some people believe that if government offer free internet to people, their time will be wasted by spending on the internet, yet on the other hand, some people believe that not only their time is not wasted, but also they can save their time. I take the former viewpoint with a grain of salt and agree with the latter viewpoint, for if believe that the more people have access to the free internet, the more they stay at home to do their personal things using the internet without going out. As a matter of fact, if they go out to do their tasks, they have to spend most of their time in traffic, which will cause air pollution if they use their own car in the worse situation.

To wrap it up, based on what mentioned above, one soon realizes that offering free internet bring several lucrative consequences for both governments and individuals inasmuch as in the first place, people's knowledge will be increased, as in the second place, people can save their time by staying at home