Question :Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples.

It is generally assumed that giving same score on a teamwork project to all participates palay a paramount role in order to evaluation student in a good way. That having been considered, whether same scoring is a good way to evaluation or not, has always been a much-debated argument. Despite the arguments asserting that it is a proper way to assessment the student, I believe otherwise, maintaining that, actually it is unfair and make them disappointed.

First and most obvious, we cannot lose sight of the fact that in a teamwork project no one spend same time and effort. Strictly speaking, there are some students who always spent more time on the project and it is unfair to get as same grade as other peers. The best example that fits in this argument is, let’s consider the project about built a maquette of a jungle. some students never do something in these kinds of project and getting same score is unfair to student who work more and harder than others. Therefore, it leaves no doubt that same grade for all members is not right.

Another equally important point to consider is, getting different score is a motivation. In essence, if everyone is going to get same grade, no one put more effort on the project and make students disappointed to try and be motivated on the project. For the purpose of illustration, let's consider this example, when there is no way to distinguish between hard workers than others, students lost their creativity and never try to be best. As a result, this kind of grading, make student disappointed and uncreative.

In the final analysis, although some might contend that, giving same score to all counterparts in a project is the best way to make a relaxed atmosphere and the best way of evaluation, I take issue with them and believe this mind-set is nothing but a tunnel-vision that fails to consider the importance of grading in creativity and motivation to student in order to do their best. In the grand scheme of things, it is high time that teachers change their attitude toward this way of evaluation.