Should students be required to attend classes?

There are two types of students in Universities. Some students believe that going to the University classes is optional, while others say the opposite. I truly believe that every student must attend to the classes if they want to get a qualified knowledge.

Students who don’t want to attend to the classes have reasons. The main one is that, they have already learned the subject by themselves. They do not want to attend to the classes, which professor explains the same knowledge that they already know. On the other side, it’s painful and annoying to listen lectures that you have already learned. Besides, the time goes very fast and they want to save their time so they can use it more efficiently. Considering of all this opinions and reasons, I still truly believe that every student must attend to the classes no matter whether they like it or not.

I agree with the fact that there are some advantages of not attending to the classes, but still advantages of attending to the classes are far overweight than not attending. In the first place, professors are more experienced and they have different methods of reading lectures. It’s the fact most people know that our brain openly accepts information and memorizes better, when speech is about hearing. Listening is more effectively than reading. Books are usually written scientifically and most of the time, it’s hard to figure out the main idea for students. Professors always tries to explain the ideas in a simple ways that students could understand and memorize it better. By attending to the classes, students are able to give questions for the things that are usually not clear and do face to face talk.

In the second place, group discussions and seminars are held during the classes, which is really helpful for students and it’s a good chance to discuss different topics. All though, it’s a good opportunity to listen different ideas from different students. Group discussions and seminars emphasizes them to learn and memorize better. Besides, they learn to express their thoughts and ideas correctly. Some students are very afraid of speaking in groups. By participating actively, they will be confident and less shy to discuss enough any topics.

In conclusion, I truly believe that the students should attend to the classes, not because only the professors give them qualified knowledge, but students also can learn from each other very fast. In one word, every student should attend to the classes, if they have a strong desire to learn something new.