Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweighs its disadvantages?

Ability of understanding a foreign language is one of the essential capabilities that anyone should have to prosper in the different facets of life. There is a controversial issue between linguists and education system experts about when is the most beneficial age to start learning another language besides their mother tongue one. Accordingly, governments and schools are in a dilemma whether provide a foreign language course for primary schools or not. I firmly believe that youngsters ought to start learning English at the primary schools. The underlying aim of this essay is to put forward some cogent reasons to shed light on a number of issues in this framework.

First and foremost, the earlier someone begins learning a second language, the more his mind is prepared to bear it. Preteen-agers involve in fewer problems in their life. Therefore their mind is free enough to grasp new information including a new language. Furthermore, long-term studying and exercising assist them to have more confidence in the new language speaking. Last year, I attended a colloquium which was held by English education department. Within the scope of discussions, a university lecturer bore down the correlation between starting age of learning English and confidence of speaking in the public. By showing some relevant statistics which revealed that eighty percent of the people who started their learning earlier, they are more confident to speak publicly.

Another equally salient point in corroborating my stance on this subject is that since students of secondary school engage with tougher lessons, they have less time to devote to a second language. Students in the secondary school are busy by the burden of science courses like mathematics, physics and chemistry. As a result, if schools start the second language at age of fifteen, the students would not take it seriously and allocate less time to study it. For example, I live in Iran and because of our supreme leader; schools are obliged to start English as a second language for primary students. As a consequence, a majority of Iranian's population are unable to understand English and it becomes one of the main problems of Iran for tourist attraction.

In a nutshell, I believe that schools should have a plan to embark on teaching a second language to .the primary student.