Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

smartphone usage has become very common, as technology developed, especially among young children. Although smartphones provide numerous advantages, I believe that owning a smartphone for a young child is something parents have to have control over. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, today smartphones are not only a communication tool but complex devices that have internet access which causes distraction over children's concentration for their real-life responsibilities. even though the internet might be a great resource to reach information, it also contains a myriad of tempting social media applications, that children prone to lost themselves in this virtual world. For instance, about a year ago, my parents decided to buy a smartphone for my little brother who was only a ten-year-old boy. Their only intention was to be sure about his location and communicate with him when it is needed. However, in a very short time, my brother met with social media applications and he started to overuse his smartphone, even during his class times. also, he continued to this habit when the times he actually supposed to do his homework and other responsibilities such as feeding our cat and cleaning his own room. Consequently, my parents forbid him to use a smartphone and they took it back. he has been using a cell phone that has no access to the internet, since back then.

Secondly, it is very important for families to avoid redundant money consumption and smartphones are expensive due to their fancy features. young children tend to use their belongings harshly and carelessly. For example, they can easily break or damage their smartphones while playing a game on the outside or drop it while running. also, they might throw it away when they got angry at something, because of their lack of control of their emotional ups and downs. These kinds of accidents cause families to pay extra costs, so it is better for them to postpone buying a smartphone for their child, until the time he reaches the age to understand his responsibilities and acknowledges the value of money savings.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that owning a smartphone for children is harmful both for them and for their parents. this is because smartphones cause attention deficit on children and because they are expensive for families to buy as an extra expense.