Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

reward for work is the general untold rule that has been followed from past in this world. people mind tuned to such an aspect so the they will be expecting some sort of gratification for their work. reward may include giving money, or buying things to the one from whom people take help. I personally disagree to this money giving aspect does not suitable for encouraging children to earn more grade in their academics.

money is not the most primary need for children. If the parent do so they themself are excavating the future of the child. at some point of time in school when children enters to the teen age, they are more curious to some unethical attribute. money can distract the children and make them to indulge in other unhealthy activities like addiction to drugs , smoking, alcoholic etc.

I personally not prefer to give money to children for their higher grades in school. Instead I will research their requirements and offer them that they will be fulfilled with that attractive requirements of they score a good grade in school. requirements may include bicycle, video games etc.

Furthermore, fulfilling the needs will not give the satisfaction sometimes. At this point of time parent should know the desire of the child like going to fantasy park, foreign trips etc. and offer them that those desires will be fulfilled only with their good academic grades.

Therefore, giving the money for the higher grades will not be suitable type of encouragement for the children in school and also it won't help the healthy growth of child.