Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high-grade mark they get in school Do you think this is a good idea Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In this progressive and sophisticated world, parents have always been concerned about their children's education. They are trying to find the best way to motivate their schoolchildren to achieve impressive academic performance. One of the controversial solutions for this concern is paying money to children for each high grade. While some people postulate that paying money can lead to great accomplishments at schools, others are against this idea. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that it is not logical to use money as an incentive for motivating children to study hard. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first noteworthy reason coming to my mind is that money provides children an external motivation that its positive influences won’t last long-term. It is undeniable fact that the process of learning is time-consuming and difficult. Young students need to dedicate a considerable amount of time practicing and learning new concepts and textbooks. Therefore, they need strong internal motivation like being interested in learning knowledge that stimulates them to study enthusiastically even when confronting backbreaking tasks. In such situations, money not only does not assist them to devote themselves to their studies but also prevents doing more effort. For instance, if money is the only incentive for them to study, they will skip difficult lessons and say we do not want money for difficult lessons.

Another exquisite point to be mentioned is that paying money to young children makes them materialistic which will adverse consequences in their future. Without any doubt, having money is really joyful for everyone including pupils, since they can purchase whatever they want. As a consequence, they study hard only to gain more money. Such young children will finally become money-oriented individuals in the future because this feature has grown inside them until their adult life, and has become strong in their minds as a pleasant incentive. For instance, if they become affluent in the future, they will not have a tendency to participate in charitable activities because they do not want to lose money.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above, it is crystal clear that money is not a reasonable and appropriate stimulus for forcing children to study hard. The first drawback of this way is since money is an external motivation, it is not sustainable. Moreover, this approach makes young children money-oriented which has negative outcomes in their future lives.