Some people prefer to live in a small town. Others prefer to live in a big city. Which place would you prefer to live in? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

A glance at living a rural life or a urban life brings a lights question that has several times provoked discussions, that is, whether a life in the countryside is better than the life in metropolis. Some people contend that living in the small town is cozier and healthier than the city life, where they have massive amount of pollution and too much population. However, I would like to suggest that the city life has many advantages as well that can even counterpart some of it's detrimental sides. In the ensuing paragrpah, I will try to shed some light on my perspective through amples examples and conspicuous reasons.

The exquisite point to be mentioned initially is that the life in a big city is much safer than living in a small town. There is a study that well proves this argument. The ministry of rural life Korea investigated the relationship between the rate of crimes that are reported and the actual crime rate being suspected. The result turned out that people in the countryside tend not to report the crimes they witnessed, or even in the case of report, they often minimized the scale, especially when a rape case happened. The investigators assumed that the clsoe relationships prevented people from reporting to keep their community out of troblesome.

Another point to be mentioned is that it is way more convinient to live in a big city. My personal examples will demonstrate this standpoint. When I was young, I used to live in a small town in Joenrabukdo. One night I had a really high fever and the closest emergency hospital was around one and half hour by driving distance from my home. My parents did their best to carry me to the emergency room, but it was bit too late for the appropriate action and I lost around 10% of my hearing ability. This kind of case hardly happens to people who live in a metropolis, where they have all the facilities needed in a close distance.

Althoough the foregoing points cross the mind at a first sight, it does not mean that they are the only one. Actually, there is another subtle point which must be borne in mind. It should be noted that the cultural establishment in rural and urban areas are not comprable. For example, around 80% of national museums, art galleries, theaters and art related educational intituitions are sholely concentrated in Seoul, in case of Korea. For this reason, I myself personally cannot aford a life in small town due to the lack of cultural instituitions.

Due to the abvoe mentioned ground, I firmly believe that a life in a metropolis or megapoils city is bettern than a life in a countryside, and safety and convinient issues are two prime and momentous reasons.