Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answers.

From television, magazines, and movies to websites, online games, and applications, life today abounds with all kinds of advertising. Some insist that advertisements can persuade people to purchase things they don't really need; others consider advertising beneficial as it acquaints people with innovative merchandise and service. From my point of view, advertisements have the power to lure people to buy products of no necessity.

To begin with, people are now being bombarded with a variety of advertising. It is increasingly inevitable to see the same advertisement countless times. Consequently, people tend to be vulnerable and then brainwashed by the advertisement into thinking that they should buy the commodity. The pop-up advertisement is a typical example of brainwashing people. Massive websites and applications are filled with pop-ups, the high frequency of presence eventually encourage people to purchase the products unconsciously.

Furthermore, sharp discount is also the allure to convince people buy things of no practical use. Barely no one has enough sense to resist extreme low prices. In fact, some consumers even believe that they are the one take advantages of sales. For instance, my mother is always convinced by the shopping channel to buy all kinds of pots as they are claimed to be useful and durable. Despite the fact that she seldom cooks, the advertising successfully encourages her to purchase.

Finally, advertising is good at marketing strategy and always finds a way to connect itself with the current trend. Take a well-known coffee brand for example. It capitalized on the popular Korean drama, combining the romantic plot into its commodity and persuaded people that they could own that romance simply by buying the coffee. Advertising knows how to utilize the public mentality, the adoration towards certain celebrities or movies and dramas, to contribute to purchasing. Hence, people sometimes buy the products purely out of vanity.

To sum up, although advertisement raises the awareness of recent merchandises and services, it involves more irrational shopping behaviors. As a result, I believe that advertising is more likely to convince people to buy things unnecessary as it is full of exaggerated and tempting marketing tricks.