Some people like to travel with a companion. Other people prefer to travel alone. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.
Traveling is a favorite recreation for many people, especially for young
students. It can enable us not only to accumulate our knowledge about history,
culture, geography and local tradition, but also to edify our minds and spirits
greatly. However, upon the question, which is better, traveling alone or together
with several friends, people seem to have different opinions. As far as I am
concerned, I like to travel with friends.
When traveling to other places, the most important thing for us to consider is
safety. In China, many famous scenery spots with Buddhist temples or shrines
are situated in deep mountains or remote areas. Travelers sometimes have to go
on a tiring and even dangerous road before they can arrive at these places:
crossing rivers with rapid currents, climbing high mountains, walking along a
narrow path on deep cliffs etc. If a person travels with others, he may receive
aids or lend a hand to his companion in time of needs. Several years ago, I
traveled with some other people to Wuyi Mountain, a famous scenery spot in
Fujian Province. When climbing a high cliff, one of the people slipped, but he
was grasped by hand almost instantaneously by a man at his side. If he had
traveled there alone, he would have fallen down the high cliff and injured
himself.
Another reason why I prefer to travel with others is that we can ease the feeling
of loneliness and nostalgia by talking with each other. When traveling to far
away and unfamiliar places, we may easily fall into a low spirit and have strong
nostalgic feeling. There are numerous ancient Chinese literary works, poems or
essays etc., which describe such feeling on road. A man sat in an empty hub,
facing a small lamp, seeing the dumping rain outside the window, etc., all
constitute a typical picture of a lonely traveler. But if at this time, the traveler
had a companion to chat with him, his sad feeling would be much lessened.
In a higher sense, life is like a traveling, most of us need someone to
accompany us to go through the road. I think those who have to live alone are
unfortunate ones in human society.