Some universities require students to take classes in many subjects. Other universities require students to specialize in one subject. Which is better?

The universities we study in is a very important part of our lives. It is where we spend most of our time as a students and also many years of our life as adults and young. If I have choice to select the number of subjects that we need to study them in my college, Some students I'm sure would believe that it's great idea; others would disagree. In my view I will select to be specialized in one subject and I will select the courses that serve my field or my major for two reasons.

First, specialized in one subject will help me to select and study the courses that related to my field and will help them in their practical life. For example, I remembered when i studied computer science at Institute of statistical studies and reserach at Cairo University, my institute gave them the chance to select any subjects we need from the list of subjects that contains more subjects abut my computer science major, so I selected my required five courses to the term from the major subjects like data structure , operating system, logic design and mathematics and also there are many subjects doesn't related to my major like statistics and also operating research but it's great for us to select what we want and ignore the others this helped me alot in my practical life because these courses make the difference in my cv to impressed big companies in IT field. Actually many colleges forced their students to select at least two subjects out of their major and I think it's very disappointed to many students because this will make them select courses they don't like it. As a result I think it's very clear that every student want the ability to select the courses that related to his major and will served him in his practical life.

Second, the subjects of the same major served each other in my studying in the university. For instance, when I selected my courses in this institute and made it related to my major this introduced to me a great chance to achieve great success in my studying. I remembered when I faced some problems in logic design course and these problems is related to misunderstood to the mathematics part of this course. Actually I didn't understand the functions for some operations like XOR, AND and NOR these operators represented a big challenge to me in this subject but I rechecked these operators when I studied it in my mathematics course and this helped me to understand it and finally I got it. So I think that studying one subject in my university through many courses served the same subject is very helpful to me to achieve success.

In conclusion, I agree that the university that make their students concentrate on one subject will introduce a great help in the study and also in practical life to them.