Some young people have free time in the evenings after school or on days off from school. Which of the following activities would be most beneficial for young people (age 14-18) to do in their spare time? Why?

Getting practical work experience either at a part-time job or by volunteering in the community

Learning to play a sport

Learning to play a musical instrument

It goes without saying that in this highly sophisticated world where we live, human beings have been struggling to find a way to live every moment of their and enjoy the passing of time instead of being regretful about the time passage. In this regard, every individual, being the young generation or senior citizens, try to find a way to spend their leisure time. While some young people prefer to work part time in order to gain expertise, some others prioritize learning to play a sport of a musical instrument. As far as I am concerned, I consider learning to play a musical instrument much more beneficial for the youngsters and the reasons to support my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, having a good command of playing a musical instrument of any kinds and focusing on this talent on one's spare time, will help the young people to improve their state of the mind and their intellectuality. It is no secret to anyone that music has been considered as one of the most influential elements in human kinds' lives since a long time. It has also been proven that playing a musical instrument professionally or amateurly in one's free time will increase the person's intellectual ability and subsequently has a positive impact on the person's mentality. An example will drive this notion home. While I was a high school student, I used to play cards or watch television in my free time. Having consulted with a psychology, I changed the way I used to fill my leisure time in order to get the most out of my life. Instead of watching television which had adversely affected my life, I learnt playing the guitar. After three months or so of learning to play guitar, I could feel the change not only in my confidence but also in my mental ability.

Moreover, learning to play a kind of musical instrument in young people's spare time will shed light on their future occupation and on discovering their passion toward the future. In this line of thought, if young generation learn playing an instrument, they can take advantage of it both to improve their mental ability and to gain knowledge about their likes and talents. Through playing a musical instrument, the person can find out if he has the cut to be a player or not. If he or she finds out that they have the talent required to be an artist or player, they can easily and conveniently follow their dreams and wished. Otherwise, they will not spend time and waste their time or go the wrong direction in their lives. As an illustration, my little brother used to go the piano class to be a professional pianist in the future. However, after attending the classes, he was cognizant of his ability and found out that he is not talented enough to be a pianist. Thus, instead of spending time on the wrong direction and forcing himself to be a player, he changed the direction of his life and now he is an adept doctor. If he did not spend his leisure time attending piano classes, he might have changed the way of his life in detour way with no future.

In conclusion, having considered the aforementioned reasons and examples into consideration, I do believe that learning to play a musical instrument is effective for young children. Not only will they improve their state of the mind, but also they will find the right track of their lives and discover their real talents and skills.