Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Teachers play as a crucial role in many different periods of times; it is never to exaggerated to illustrate how thankful we, as a student, can be. However, some teachers do believe that they are not appreciated and valued by society than before. Although the statement may seem to be true only among part of the teachers, I fundamentally agree with the statement.

To expand my point, firstly, due to the emerging technologies, it has become easier for student to explore knowledge through their laptop and cellphones. On the other hand, learning new information to solve issue can happened only in the classroom in the past, while the teacher is their main provider to instill skills. In nowadays, the occurred of internet not only bring enormous resources to all the learners, but they also offer learning for student to point out mistakes that made by their teachers. Thus, in this sense, the value of teachers can be declined, they are the longer be as the only sources to gain improvement for the students.

Secondly, education does not serve as the only past to be success, therefore, people will not put as much emphasis on it as their ancestors. Chances to fulfill the dream of upward mobility can come from diverse fields, outstanding people can accomplish their goals even if they do not complete their education. Take Mark Zuckerberg as an example, he dropped out from university during the process of starting his own business, he does not need a diploma to prove his ability, while the greatness of Facebook is the best certificate to speak for him. Therefore, it is not surprising that teachers be less appreciated in this era.

Moreover, how the government treat teacher can be also stand as one of the reasons that affect society’s point of view. The offer and the payment of the teachers are incomparable to the past, it is hard to find a position for the rookies in the teaching industry, and it is difficult to raise a family for some of the teachers consider about their earning. As some might choose to give up the role, and turn to seek other opportunities, negative comments can proliferate and damage the image of teachers.

To conclude, consider the situation for a teacher in the modern society, the alternative of learning, changes of education and the effect of the policies can lead to less appreciation that teachers received today, therefore, I fundamentally agree with the statement.