Topic: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should be paid according to how much their students learn. Give specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Education plays an important role in one’s life so as teachers. Teachers build the base of education when we are kids till we end up studying at the university. Some people believe that efforts of teaching students should be valued by paying according to how much the students learn from teachers. However, I definitely believe that it is unfair to pay teachers like that because it will create discrimination among the students in the class, students will lose their opportunity to widen their knowledge from their professors in areas other than the test syllabus, and teachers do not have control selecting the students for their class.

To begin with, if professors or teachers are paid according to students learning, they will be unfair to the students who are below average in their performance. These students need more attention form teachers as it takes more time to learn things for them as compare to other students. If professors are paid according to students’ grade, they will try to focus on bright and average students who can get the high score easily. Thus this will create discrimination among the students, and students who require more help from their teachers will stay behind in their class.

In addition, if teachers are getting money according to students’ score, they will teach them the material which will be on the test. They will not waste their time teaching them about the topics that are not related to the exam. For an instance, when I was in 12th grade in India, we had the board test and I joined the class of the professor to prepare for the test. It was a private institute, the professor was paid on our score. The professor was teaching us only for the topics which are important for the test in that class. I often went to him if I had any questions, and he explained me in details if he was free, but in class he taught us only exam oriented syllabus. This is because he was paid on the students’ grade in the board, and we lost our chance to learn the topic in details. Thus this will narrow down the students’ opportunity to widen their knowledge from their professors.

Last but not least, teachers do not have choice to select the students for his class. The school or college decides the class size and students for his class. If in one class, most of the students are smart, they will get the high score with less efforts. However, if one class is full of mediocre students, over all score for that class will remain low instead of teacher’s great efforts. Thus we cannot decide teachers’ skill according to students learning.

To sum it up, some people think that teachers should be paid according to students’ learning. I totally disagree with that because teachers will differentiate their students according to their intelligence, students will not get chance to broaden their knowledge from their teachers, and teachers do not choose students for their class so their efforts will not be valued properly.