TPO-02 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Having different kinds of relationship with other people, is an important part of each person’s life. Since relationships are the basis for every kind of human interactions, the majority of people believe that always being honest will help them to keep a healthy balance between the parties. However, some people think that sometimes it is impossible to be honest and telling a lie, avoids aggregating problems in the relationship. Undoubtedly, I am of the opinion that honesty is the most important characteristic that a person should have to have a long lasting and trustful relationship for some specific reasons.

First, telling the truth helps to have a right perception of the situation. Many people think that by telling a lie, they are helping the other party to feel less pressure, while they are making things more complicated. To illustrate, doctors usually hide the truth from their patients, thinking that this would help them to live happier in the last moments of their life. Nevertheless, by hiding the kind of disease or the time that the person will survive, doctors not only give a mendacious hope to the patient but also sophisticate the situation for their families because they are sad, but they have to pretend that everything is good.

Secondly, telling a lie is not a good approach especially in long-term relationships. Trust is among the most important dimensions of long-term perspectives. When you tell a lie, to seem like a loyal person, you may have to tell some other lies and invent stories to keep your lies seem true. Therefore, a chain of lies would come after telling a small lie and you will definitely betray your friend’s trust. Actually, in my opinion, fabricating is a kind of cheating to your friend, and this shows low level of moral and ethics. Hence, if you are going to have a long lasting friendship, do not start a lie because a series of lies may come after and your friend discovers that for sure.

In addition, not being honest puts some pressures on you. After fabricating, people get stressed out because they are afraid if somebody understands that they have told a lie. Admittedly, when you are honest, you feel more confident since what you have said was the truth. As an example, when I was a child, once I broke a glass and I did not want my mother to know that, so I told her a lie. However, I always felt guilty about that and I tried to hide my stress. One day I decided to tell the truth to my mother and when I confessed that I have broken that glass, I really felt like a good and innocent person.

In conclusion, to be a good partner, friend, colleague or even a child, we need to be honest in order to be aware of the real situation, avoid betraying other’s trust and feel less pressure.