TPO 30: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We are all aware that one's satisfaction with work reflects considerably on our sense of happiness. Some people think that working only three days a week for long hours is enjoyable, others disagree. Honestly, I reckon that working five days a week for shorter hours contributes more to our enjoyment.

First of all, working daily for short hours is more effective as it guarantees the quality of our jobs' duties and makes us enjoy our jobs. According to recent surveys, working prolonged hours can hardly get the best of people. Working five days requires us to work eight hours daily while working for only three days to stay at least thirteen hours working. Thus, we are likely to run out of energy and loss focus to achieve our tasks flawlessly. Take my cousin Adam's experience of being an intern in a pharmaceutical firm as a vivid example. He worked from 8 am to 10 pm, revising patients' prescriptions, doses, and possible drug interactions. Ambitious as he was, he still messed up significant data like patients' age and weight due to lack of sleep and energy by the end of the day. Those repeated mistakes put tremendous stress on him that made her hate her job. Had Adam never worked those long hours, he would have accomplished his tasks more effectively and enjoyed his work.

Secondly, people who work daily have more chances to get promoted, which makes us enjoy their careers. Frankly, it is not soundly reasonable to get a managerial position when you work only three days a week.

For instance, a long time ago, I accepted a full-time job in a chain pharmacy; my shift was only three days a week for twelve hours. After five years of technical work, I still take my original salary at the same rank as a freshly graduate pharmacist. I was disappointed regarding my career advancement. Later, I realized that I did not get any promotion because I was working only three days. So, I immediately switched to the daily working pattern, which gave me the chance to get closer to managers and learn managerial skills. Therefore, by the end of the year, I became the manager of the pharmacy. As you can see, working in an everyday style benefited my career progression and self-enjoyment.

In conclusion, based on the two reasons mentioned above, daily working for a short time is more enjoyable than working only for three days for long hours. Not only because we complete our tasks more efficiently but also get promoted and progress in our careers.