TPO 34- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Website.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this generation, technology are so advanced and many gadgets and tools are used to entertain people. People spends majority of their time surfing the internet, playing games on their cellphone and they forgot that there are more important things to do with their time. In my humble opinion, I agree that its is difficult educating kids today because there are many distractions with their studies. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, young adolescent time are allocated with other activities such as playing online games and surfing the internet. Their time are not spend wisely because they have many external stimuli that capture their attention. Nowadays, parents are experiencing hard time educating their children it is because their attention are focused on playing video games than studying their lessons. However, in the past children study for hours without the distraction from today's technology, so they can focus much better in their subjects. For example, I am reviewing for my Toefl examination and I am having hard time concentrating because there are many social media that ruining my focus to study well. In addition, when I practice for listening and reading section for my toefl exam, my computer will alert for messages and updates from my social media account and it distract me too much that I can't answer the questions properly.

Secondly, educating children are difficult task to parents nowadays. Kids are addicted to their cellphone and mobile app that all they want to do is use their phone and search the internet. Young people do not realize how much time they consume using their cellphone and laptop. The reality is, half of their time are spend with this technology and parents cannot control their children. As a result, their study habits are declining. For instance, my niece Sam like her social media account so much that she uses it everyday. When she wakes up she checks her cellphone for notification from her facebook account and she did not notice that her time is spend on non- useful activities. Sam rarely opens her books and do her assignment, even though her mother helps her and encourages her to study well. Sam's mind are fixated with her social media account and does not want to study.

To summarize, I believe that parents are having hard time educating their children compared in the past. This is because advancement in the technology distracts children to focus more on their studies and their time are allocated on social media accounts.