tpo 40 Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Getting good grades is important because those high marks show that you have accomplished your duty successful. Some may say that parents should celebrate their children's achievements by giving them monetary gifts. Others argue that this is not a good practice. In my opinion, parents should feel proud about their children, but they should try not prize them with money.

First of all, giving money to children that get a higher score in school would not let them distinguish the importance of why they should work hard to get good grades. Moreover, their tendency to do better in school will be because they know that their parents will give them money after each high score they receive. To illustrate, my cousin Tomas gave to his son a certain amount of money after each high grade he got. In fact, his son, who now knew how his father will behave, it made sense that he would have tried very hard to get good scores. It turned out that his son was doing well in school because he wanted to get money from his father, so that he could buy whatever he wanted. He could not distinguish why it was important to get good marks. If Tomas had never practice this manner, his son might have understood better the reason of doing well in school.

Secondly, generally speaking, not all parents could economically afford to give their kids money after each high score. For instance, around three decades ago, when I was still a child, I had a friend, who had a family who had low incomes. However, my friend was a bright kid. She used to get always high marks. Her family did not give her anything in exchange to those good grades. They were proud parents, and loved her unconditionally. Even though they tried to fulfill all her needs, that does not mean that they should have given her money on top of that. Overall this situation tells us that many parents cannot economically afford to give their bright kids money, after each of good marks they get in school. Loving them and taking care of them is one of the most valuable things.

In conclusion, parents should not give their children money after each good grade they get. This is because they will not be able to distinguish the importance of studying hard and get high scores. And because not all parents could economically afford to spent money that way.