TPO 40:

Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Giving presents like money or etc. to children for achieving success is a very debatful topic. Some people believe this can change habitats of child and make them dependable to the presence of reward but in contrast, other believe this makes the child to progress faster and more enjoyable. In my point of view, the reward is a very effective approach that is useful for childs.

For the First reason, I should mention about structure of the brain that works with the rule of reward and punishment. Humans from the stone age advent up to now human learned many things with this rule. The brain likes to continue some affords that will have rewards to it. So with regards to this point, with bringing rewards like money parents are encouraging kids to try better again to have good grades. This matter will effect to the brain to make progress to obtain better results that satisfies this sense of reward.

The next reason that I believe is feedback. kids especially in childness should get feedback about their works to get a better estimation about their situation and better understanding about the consequences of their works or to know better why they are doing that. These questions are the source of motivation and willingness that can be inspiring for childs. Not only about the motivation, but also feedback can show them about the direction of their efforts and can be a better guidance to them to continue more.

The final point is that, for fixing this issue that rewarding make childs dependable to it and can cause some problem in where there is no reward, parents can use punishment sometimes to make some balance in rewarding/punishment system. So childs learn that sometimes there is no reward and in addition, there will be a punishment to confront them to both sides of consequences.

In conclusion, the reward is an effective way to motivate childs for moving forward and increase their ambition but like every other affair having balance is more important and parents can attain a better situation by using rewards in a balanced way.