TPO 44 Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, if parents don’t have much time with their children, they would spend only time on relaxing with kids, no matter which form of entertainment they will join in. And my reasons will be listed as follows:

First of all, children need to relax and adjust their state after long-time studying. In china, a high school student usually spend more than 8 hours on studying per day, and more than 5 days per week. Their learning burdens are very heavy. If parents always mention schoolwork at their few leisure time, it is equivalent to increase children’s burden. Why not have fun with kids such as hiking, watching movie or playing badminton. It’s a good way to free children’s mind as well as parents’. After relaxing, they will all have a better state to study or work.

Except for the aforementioned reason, having fun with children is also a good chance to improve the relationship between parent and child, especially for those busy parents. Usually, busy parents don’t have much time to communicate with their kid. As a result, they don’t know what their child think about. Hence, the poor communication will cause contradiction between parent and kid. If parent take the child to have fun, it will form a extremely different consequence. For example, my father went back home once a week when I was a high school student. However, he never mentioned schoolwork when he came back. He always took me to play basketball or watched NBA games with me if rained. Even though he is busy, our relationship is perfect. We have same hobbies so that we talk a lot to each other. I was relaxed at weekend, so when I started to study on Monday, I was confident to overcome all the difficulties on studying.

Last but not least, it’s unnecessary for parent to spend time on things related to schoolwork with children. Nowadays, with the emergency of learning robot and online teaching class, children have many approach to study independently. It may be more efficient because parents are not professional teachers. They just guide their kids through their own knowledge and experience.

All in all, I support that busy parent pay more attention to have fun with children. Playing with children not only relax them but also improve the relationship with them. Additionally, parents’ guidance may not be effective.