TPO 49 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is important for happiness than the ability to make new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As we know, friends play a important role in our lives. Therefore, we usually study how to make new friends or how to maintain friendships for a long time. However, in my opinion, we get more happiness because of the ability of making new friends easily.

First of all, once we leave a familiar place to study or for the job, we can adapt the new life faster with the great social ability. For example, when I was 12, I entered the junior high school which far from my home and everyone at school were strangers. But my nature is lively and I like to communicate with others. Gradually, I was familiar with my classmates meanwhile at least 50% of them became my friends. I always played basketball with my friends and discussed the content of studying so that I made big progress on the both exam performance and basketball skill. Hence, I adapted my junior high school life quickly and really enjoyed it.

Except for the aforementioned reason, we can learn more knowledge with the good ability to make new friends. Take one of my university classmate Charles as the example, he’s very outgoing with great social skills so that he can make friends with members of different kinds of communities. Through these new friends, he learn how to play the guitar, how to edit the video, even how to practice yoga. So much for his example, it’s not difficult to conclude that we can study more things from the new friends skilled at different kinds of fields.

All in all, with the good ability to make new friends, we not only can adapt the life quickly in a new place but also can learn more knowledge from the new friends. Compared with how to maintain old friends, it’s more important to have the capacity of making new friends easily.