TPO25 – Independent: A/D? Young people nowadays do not give enough time to help their communities.

During the last decades, the digital revolution has altered several aspects of our societies, as well as, our personal lives. As a result, societies have been experiencing significant concerns about the effects of modern life on the relationship between people within a community. One of the heated debated in this realm is that whether young people, nowadays, do not allocate enough time to help their communities in different activities. Although there might be some counterexamples about this claim, I would argue that young people do not contribute a lot to their communities compared to the past. Following reasons will further elaborate on this issue.

The most prominent topic to be mentioned is that the rapid development of technologies cuts us off from our communities ranging from the smallest one which is our family to the largest one which is the society. People, particularly younger ones tend to spend most of their time on social media, the internet, messaging services, and they separate themselves from their real world. Consider my own experience which can shed some light on this issue. A few years ago, when it was not possible for everyone to have a personal cell phone, I used to spend some time on social activities such as attending a club close to our previous apartment. It was an enjoyable experience with our neighbors to revolutionize our small community together. However, now, I neither visit my neighbors nor do any social activities with them. In fact, now, I allocate my time to follow different campaigns on Facebook and social media rather than being in a real community.

The second rationale behind my idea is rooted in the fact that modern life has changed the way young people think. As a result, they do not feel responsible for people around them anymore. Our responsibilities, now, is restricted to our personal lives, and we believe that our life is not affected by our communities. In other words, people who live in a community should be considered as a whole, but we live in an age in which people put a premium on their own demands, lives, and concerns.

To wrap it up, based on the ideas which were presented above, I strongly believe that, by the advent of technologies, young people do not devote enough time and energy to their communities and societies. The modern era has transformed the way they think and cut them off from their real world. Let us hope that young people start coming back to their communities in order to improve their society by taking advantage of their potential.