TPO_43: Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

-Say nothing

There have been some moot points regarding our behavior toward a teacher or leader who has a wrong statement. The question of the best reaction has aroused as a subject of controversy among academicians. When it comes to my position, by weighing up the pros and the cons, I strongly subscribe to the point that I prefer to wait until the class or the meeting is finished then talk to teacher or meeting leader privately. I have some reasons the most outstanding of which will be explicated in the ensuing paragraphs.

The first reason worth discussing here is that everyone has his or her zeitgeist and social status, therefore, I should respect the teacher or leader situation and do not damage their position. To be more specific, it is not fair to correct their fault in front of other people because of their position drop due to this action. As a case to the point, I vividly remember, in my thesis defend meeting one of my referees stated an obvious idea about my result which gainsays my analysis. Thus this opinion leads to some negative point in my thesis. Due to this person was a high ranked professor in my field, I decided to accept his opinion and did not any reaction toward his wrong idea but after the meeting, I talked with my referee and corrected his fault. My personal experience competently corroborates to the point that it is better to correct other wrong ideas in the private place to maintain their position.

By the same token, another paramount reason to be mentioned here is that sometimes correcting teachers or leaders give rise to these persons feel, we want to degrade these persons. As a result, they act against us drastically. The corollary of this act brings about some conflicts. My personal example demonstrates this reality, I have a colleague named Mina. We have worked in a construction project as a supervisor. Two days ago I corrected her exotic mistake in front of our employer. After that, her behavior changed dramatically. She wanted to destroy my position and tried to clarify my foible. As a consequence, my action leads to her reaction. My personal example shed some light on the point that if I state her mistake in private I would prevent this conflict.

To wrap it up, according to the aforementioned reasons, I reiterate that, I vehemently prefer to correct everyone in the private not in front of other people. This action not only damages their position but also lead to some conflicts.