TPO47

Nowadays, thanks to the improvement of technology, we can learn the news and events all over the world by surfing the Internet or turning on TVs. However, some people care about the international issues, and some think it is more important to pay attention to things which are close to our lives. In my view, I prefer the former one. I will point out two reasons to support my opinion.

First of all, learning things from different countries and cultures can broaden our views. If we only contact with attitudes and life philosophy from a specific environment, our thoughts and mindsets would be limited by them. On the contrary, receiving diverse ideas, people can make more choices. For example, when I was a child, I decided my career path to be a doctor. However, according to the news, there is seventy percent of children making the same goal in my country. The reason why the phenomenon occurs is that adults in my country actively encourage kids to be a doctor since they believe doctors would be seen as a successful career and gain the most respects in the society. Fortunately, a few years later, I watched an American documentary which introduced how numerous computer science can change the world. After this, I got inspired by the film and set my dream job as a computer engineer. If I had no opportunity to learn about the information from other countries, my road would be narrow since my surroundings would easily influence me.

Moreover, we can see successful works around the world as references to improve ourselves. If people learn the examples which contribute excellent achievement, they can follow the same paths. To make professor Ke, who is the mayor of the capital in my country, as an example, he has visited several cities around the world to learn how to organize and manage municipal affairs. After studying these cases, he successfully applied the bicycle services and systems from Japan into our capital. Therefore, our capital city becomes a place where citizens can ride bicycles safely, cheaply and conveniently. This example demonstrates how international events can benefit people.

In conclusion, based on the points mentioned above, I agree that events happening around the world are worthy to know. Because learning the different views from other cultures can broaden our mindsets. Besides, we can follow excellent cases around the world to make achievements in our lives.