Visiting museums is the best way to learn about a country.

There are many countries in the world which have different cultures as well as different history. It is worth exploring another country since it will broaden your horizon and enlarge your knowledge. For the method to learn about a country, people have their own preference. Some people consider that visiting museums is the best way to do that while others have other choices. Personally, I disagree with this former idea and regard traveling around the country as the best way to explore it instead of going to museums. Detailed reasons will be explored in subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, I think we need to explore the contemporary country rather than the past country at first personally. However, it is known that museums usually exhibit items, like books and images, from the past which show a country's history. Although we can know a lot by visiting museums, viewing images and reading explanations in museums can't give us a vivid show of the country nevertheless. To explain it in detail, the method I adopt to explore a city may work for exploring a country too. I like to explore a city by taking a walk around the city without plans instead of going to museums or those famous sites. Only by walking along streets, eating local dishes can we have a tangible feeling of the city. The city embraces you when you walk on its roads, smelling and hearing, which is an enjoyable experience which can’t be obtained by visiting museums. When you want to explore a country, you can drive your car down to country roads, chating with local people, which will give you a comprehensive notion about the country.

Secondly, what should be mentioned is that museums are often built by governments of countries. They store what they want to store and exhibit what they want to exhibit. Therefore, those items laid out are likely to play some specific roles, like showing the positive aspect of the country and showing how people fight through the hard period to encourage today's citizens to work hard for the future. As a consequence, what you learn from visiting museums may be partial and this problem can be supplemented by talking with local people, like taxit drivers. They collect information from every corner of the country while driving his car and sending people to the destination. I often have a valuable talk with them when taking a taxit, knowing about the latest cases and development happening in the city, which excites me very much.

To conclude, I believe that the best way to learn about a country is traveling around the country rather than going to museums.