When schools do not have enough funding or teachers, some people think physical education classes should be cut, while others believe that courses in art and music should be eliminated first. Which do you think is preferable, and why?

When schools face financial struggles, one important decision that has to be made is to decide what can be done to reduce costs. Many people are tempted to cut classes that are not perceived as important for the development of the brain. Some people feel that music and art should be the first courses that should be eliminated, while others think that physical education is not important and can be cut out. Personally, I believe that art and music classes are important and should not be eliminated. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, both art and music are manifestations of a society´s culture. By studying these classes, young students learn about the importance of creativity and the impact it has on people. For instance, when I was in high school, I had the opportunity to learn how to use local musical instruments from my country like the zampoña, which is an instrument from the andean communities. By learning about the different instruments I had a better understanding about the cultural differences between regions in my home country. If I had not taken music courses at high school, I would probably not be aware about the musical diversity of my country. Therefore, I believe that learning about art and music are essential in order to understand about a country´s culture.

Secondly, art and music promote imagination and creativity. It is important that young children are exposed to many creative activities so they properly develop their minds. For example, my younger sister had art classes since she was in primary school and there she discovered her passion for art. My sister was a shy kid at that time and she found that she could communicate with others through her drawings. Painting and drawing became the ways she could express her imagination and feelings. Now, she decided to pursue studies in graphic design as she enjoys finding ways to communicate information through innovative design and art. Both art and music help children to have fun and further develop their imagination.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that art and music courses should not be eliminated. Both courses help children to have a better understanding of their culture and it also boosts their creativity.