It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Some people believe that the year off is a waste of time while others believe that it is necessary.Discuss

A gap between finishing school and joining university has become a trend these days as some of the universities adopting this kind of process. Providing a year off to students after finishing school is a debatable topic in recent time. Some universities are allowing students to take a gap of even a year after they finish up school. I will elaborate on the opinions of people who believe that this process should be adopted while others are against it.

Some people who are in favor of that students should be given a year off before joining the university, provide a valid point by saying that student should get time to rejuvenate themselves before getting into the totally different environment. They must be given time to prepare themselves and adapt universities culture which can be a great benefit for them in long run. By getting this gap, students can learn about the culture and many other things so that they would not feel uncomfortable after joining the university.

On the other hand, there are some people who think that the student should not be given a gap after finishing schools as they can get involved in some bad habits and activities. They may indulge themselves in some serious crimes also as they have much free time to do all these things. In addition to this, students can become so lethargic and can lose the rhythm of studies if they get that much gap which will lead to losing their interest in studies.

In conclusion, taking a long gap between studies can prove to be fatal for students career. In my opinion, students should get some time to prepare for the new culture they are getting in universities but not a long time as this cannot be fruitful for them.