Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion about this? Discuss with appropriate examples

In several past years, shopping malls popularity has grown rapidly and are transforming urban lifestyle. They are everywhere and are replacing small shops. The subject arouses two different opinions – are large shopping malls are good or bad. Many people are of the opinion that these shopping malls are coming at the cost of small shops while others think that large malls are the need of the hour. I will give my opinion after analyzing both the sides.

The major reason that people are preferring malls is the convenience of getting our daily needs including groceries, clothes, shoes, books etc under one roof along with cinemas and entertainment arcades making it a one-stop solution. The people backing the idea of promoting mall culture supports it with the fact that it not only saves a lot of time of shopping in-fact saves time from bargaining also as things are available at fixed prices.

Regardless of their endless advantages, they do have some disadvantages. The malls are taking away local and small shops thus the decision to promote large shopping malls taking the bread out of the mouths of many people. The shopkeepers are left with no means of earning a living. Only a few customers buy products from small local shops and the practice is greatly affecting the local economy. Moreover, in malls, people are tempted to buy unnecessary things hence burning a hole in their pocket.