16. The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager of WWAC radio station alleges that to reverse the decline in listener number the radio should change for current rock music to a news and talk format which is increasingly popular in our area. The author mention poor evidence for the argument. The manager has paucity on research about the interest of the people and should do deliberate study about their radio programs.

The author readily assumes that the listeners are decreasing due to the decline in local sales of recorded music and suggest limited interest in music. However, this assumption seems to be spurious or lacks grounds. There might be other radio station which are conducting the same music program and their audience are burgeoning. This can convey that there might be malfeasance in the program of their radio. The author should also research about its radio program and evaluation other radio program how they are conducting and what may be the paucity in their program which couldn’t enthrall the audience.

Secondly, the author assumes that the new resident likes the news and talk program and this assumption seems to be skeptical or erroneous. The new resident may have the different liking or might be the like the music programs. The author lacks in comprehension of the audience or their liking. Moreover, there new resident might like the same music program, the radio used to operate previously. Furthermore, if this is likely to occur then the radio station will go in loss rather than lucrativeness as the manager is expecting those new resident to be the one to like the news and talk program.

Finally, the above argument lacks the evidence based on the competitor, the manager contrives that in order to have lucrative business they will conduct talk program. Nevertheless, as author himself mention that there may many radios conducting such program, there will be more risk for the radio station to have been established in such market. Moreover, their audience are declining, so this heralds more risks to burgeon in such industry. Hence, the manager must have profound study about such program and contrive on conducting those program with new and unique style.

In the nutshell, the author lacks persuasiveness, the ground for the evidence are weak to trust upon the managers plan. To bolster the above argument, the manager must have profound research about the liking of the new resident, the main scrupulous about declining the listeners, and contrive the unique way to conduct the program.