The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author asserts that the CCC Company has purchased land for mining the copper in West Fredonia but it is the area of some endangered animal species and mining copper will inevitably harm the pollution and affect those animals. Therefore, the author adds on his panacea that the only way the control the environmental disaster is by simply refusing the products that are made with CCC’s copper. The argument seems to be cogent but it relies on the superfluous grounds. Moreover, the author didn’t seem to have deliberate research on the issue. Once the CCC purchased the land, it would be loss for them to terminate their plans.

First and foremost, the author assumes that the CCC will hold back their plans just by refusing the purchase of the product by their consumer. This assumptions seem to be flawed in such a way that, to abandon such prodigious land would be great loss for the company itself. The CCC might run their project in much safer way by using the preventive measures such that it wouldn’t harm the animals and don’t result in environmental disaster. The author seems to confine his assumptions. However, he should have drawn out alternative preventive measure to conduct the plan.

Secondly, the author fails to mention that either the company have extracted the copper previously or it is their first time. It might need to be underscored because the author mentions at last that the consumers can simply refuse the purchase product that are made with CCC’s. But, if the company is hasn’t extracted the copper previously how they can refuse the products purchase. Therefore, in this respect the above arguments seems to lack some evidence, which obfuscate the issue.

Finally, the author assumes that the consumers will surely reject the CCC product. Nevertheless, there might be majority of consumer who are not concerned about the environment. Moreover, CCC might be the best company to produce the qualitative product of the copper. This in turn, means that the consumer who are more inclined toward the quality product, they will choose the CCC rather than refusing, in respect to the environmental issue.

In the nutshell, the above argument lacks persuasiveness. To bolster the above argument, the author should have meticulous research on how are the CCC consumer are they well concerned about the environmental issue, manifest the argument clearly about the manufacturing products of the CCC and the author should also deem such obvious tact as mentioned above that a company don’t want to itself face a loss. Therefore, the author if sheds the light on these factor, the argument will seem to be conspicuously persuasive.