1. Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs.The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above argument states that Nature’s way, which is the store selling health food and other health – related products is likely to open the next franchise in the town of Plainsville and it is fully assured that it will be successful. The author relies on the basis that the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time high as all the aerobics class are always full. The author presumption seems dubitable because there is lots of missing research like the author has not discussed about the competitor for it, the price of their product for which the people of Plainsville might not afford.

Firstly, the author assumes that Nature’s Way can be easily established in Plainsville. The author assumption is unwarranted because there might be other health product selling stores which is quiet famous, trustworthy and satisfied for the Plainsville people. However, opening the franchise in such place might not benefit. And it might be difficult to sustain the Nature Way in such place with lots of competitor. If the others stores selling health product in Plainsville have good service than the Nature’s Way than it will not benefit for Nature Way and might go in loss rather than profit. So,the author need to have deliberate research about other prevailing stores and what services they are providing.

Secondly, the author assert people will buy the product from their store, despite of knowing that what kind of costumer are there. In the argument above, there is nothing about the price and what kind of people are there in Plainsville , either there are middle class are high class these things are missing in the argument. These factors are quite necessary for Nature Way to do feasible study on establish in such place. If the people are of middle class and Nature Way is selling its product of high price and which may not be affordable to the people then it will be problematic to the Nature way. Likewise if the Plainsville are of high class people and Nature Way sell low quality product with cheap price then this will also be problematic for Nature way. Hence,the author needs to do research on pricing and what are the demand of people.

Finally, the author implies that the school children of Plainsville are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program so the school children are likely to be potential costumer. The author fails to mention that where are the school children buying their health product. Since, these days the schools provides all the services form stationeries to uniform their recreational demand. Contemporary schools have been much solicitous towards the services for the children, so we can presume that the schools might also have fitness class and they may provide all the accessories for it. Hence there is some doubt regard the author assertion that children might be the potential costumer. However, it seems that the deliberate research is lacking.

In conclusion we can say that there is lack of persuasiveness in the argument as we mentioned that the author has fails to research on so many pivotal topic. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to research about the likely competitor for the store, the price margin of the product and what type of costumer are there and where are the student purchasing their health product from.