5. The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument, the author has cited some facts and came to the conclusion that by limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents. However the argument is rife with holes and unwarrant assumptions, and hence, not strong enough to buttress the preceded claim.

First of all, there is an assumption that the decrease of accidents in S is due to the limiting policy. However the author should address the question that whether there is a causation between these two events. Just because both occur at the same time does not necessarily means one leads to another.There can be some of other reasons for the decrease in S. It can be due to the improved road condition or some new setting traffic signs, even the more strict traffic laws. Without ruling out these or other possibility the argument is uncredible, thereby the prediction may not be achieved.

Even if the author successfuly sabstantiated the assumption that it was the limiting policy that cause the decrease of accidents in S, there still leaves a question open to doudt that does the condition in S and B is exactly resembling including the demographic structure, geographic condition,and the traffic envirenment, and so on. Since there is no evidence to indicate that. It is entirely possible that the population in S is far less than that of A, or the road in S is more flat and broad.

Finnally, even if the author can substantiate all of the forgoing assumptions, in asserting that by limiting the number of rentals, A could attain 50% decrease just like which S has achieved, the autor overlooks the possiblility that the specific number of accidents in S is very small, accordingly the 50% decrease of accidents is small too, albite 50% is a big number, but the number of accidents is extremely high.

To recapitulate, it is clear that there are still some unexplored avenues in the argument due to which the conclusion seems untenable. It would be wise to address those areas prior to setting any firm conclusion on the matter.