An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument discusses the remedy for insomnia using scent of lavender flowers. It conclude that the scent of lavender flowers cures the insomnia. Further, the conclusion is supported with an experimental study. However, there are many evidences missing to support the premise of the argument. The evidens such as why the controlled room is choosen for the study? and how the controlled room is different from the normal sleeping area? Further, the tiredness of the volunteers after the third week is not mentioned in the arguments. In addition, it is possible that the most of the volunteers might have worked long in the third week which might be indiced sleeping. Hence, the study count should increase or their working hours during the third week should included in the argument. The argument needs to address these quries to strength the premise as well as the conclusion.

As stated in the introduction, the condion of the controll room should be mentioned in the argument. What if the contrll room is made to create the environment for sleeping? In that case it will not represent the actual sleeping place of the people which might possess noisy environment, filled with insects, etc. Therefore, it is important to address the contion of the controll room in which the study has been conducted. In addtion, the author should address whether the controll room is installed with airconditiones which would create perfect sleeping environment. If it is so, the evident would weaken the argument. To strengthen it, the author should consider some reduction factor in the result.

Further, the author failed to include the tiredness of the volunteers after the third week. What if the volunteers had faced the same tiredness as in the case of medication? In that case the author can not claim that the lavender cures insomnia completely. There might be possibilities that the staff failed to monitor the tiredness. Therefore, it is important to mention about tiredness to strengthen the conclusions. In addtion, with only three week time the author claims that the lavender cures insomnia in a short span of time. What if the effect lost only for 1 week after the treatment? What if the people should take continuously the lavender scent? What if the contineous expose of humen to lavender scent possess side effects? These quries should be answered by the author to strengthen the premise of the argument.

In addtion, the author state that volunteers had sound sleep in third week. What if the volunteers worked long in the third week? It might have induced them to have sound sleep. Therefore, the study should be done with large number of volunteers. In that case the conclusion can be mased strongly

On the whole, the argument laks in many evidents to support the premise and the conclusion as stated in the aforementioned paragraphs. It is very important for the author to address these quries to strength the arguments.