Argument Topic :“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

The argument that reduction in operating cost will lead to increase in profits of the video rental stores seems to be weaker due to it's ill supportation by the evidences and listed premises. As the author suggests that by closing the store early in the evening at 6:00 pm rather than 9:00 pm will help to reduce the cost, but what happened consequently that it reduced the stock of last five years of movies. There could be numerous other factors that could be responsible for the decreased profits in spite of concentrating only on the operating cost.

Firstly, Since the author incorrectly assumes that decreased revenue is only due to operating cost and fails to consider other important factors. For example in due course of time the stores could have lost their power to allure customers. Since the customer satisfaction play a vital role in determining the cost benefit ratio of the any organization, it's attachment with the consumer market is thus noticeable.

Another reason that undermines the argument is ignoring the 'quality' as one of the most important factor. Even a minute deterioration in the store's product will lead to reduced demand for the various products from the store. Due to decrease in attending customers at the store have a negative impact on the store's profit.

Although, rental store are famous for providing great quality products at marginal prices, thus it is obvious for the store to have an appropriate price for the products. Therefore cutting cost will not help to a good extant.

At last it can be concluded that the argument can be rendered weak due to ignoring factors like quality of products, considering only operating cost playing major role in profit of the rental stores. However, the argument can be bolstered by considering all factors related to store's economy, improving quality without disturbing the prices so much and also author's assumption to recommend same charges for all nine stores will help to corroborate the argument.