A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave

are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive

payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to

work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired

judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such

as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine

whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these

questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

The argument concludes on the basis of a hypothesis that workers who are paid for their sick leave are 28 percent less prone the accidents related to their occupation than those not paid for their work. The evidences cited to support this argument includes feeling pressure due to ill metal health, reduced judgmental ability during sickness of their body and work accidents related the construction are noticed more as compared to the other works. However the premises are unable to justify or strengthen the weak conclusion. The main reason why the argument is rendered inconclusive are incorrect assumption, problems with research data and ignoring certain other important factors.

Firstly, the argument incorrectly assumes that only non paid workers are having more chances of being parts of work accidents rather than the paid workers during their sickness. For example, it is not necessary that only non paid worker will have effect on their mental health during illness, other paid workers could also show mental weakness and are also prone to work accidents.

Secondly, the argument fails to consider other important factors which can affect the outcome of the argument in a different way. For instance only construction related works are having accidents and not the other occupations. People working in the business fields also have adverse effects on their mental well being, when they are not healthy and leads to brain hemorrhage and other fatal accidents.

Also, the statistical data provided may have fundamental loopholes and the sample taken during the survey may not accurately represent the data. There may be 10 or less than 10 percent people who are paid and prone to accidents rather than 28 percent as claimed in the argument.

Hence, it can be concluded that the argument's conclusion ill supported by the premises cited namely paid worker feel less pressure, inability to judge right or wrong, and that construction works have more accident. However, the argument can be bolstered by making correct assumptions, accurately taking the sample to make statistical data more appropriate and considering other occupation including construction works. In spite of the scope of improvement, argument as written is incoherent, illogical and completely inconclusive.