The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument states that with the proposed law preventing the development of exisiting farmland in the Maple County, the housing prices will increase significantly. On a casual reading,the argument seems logically correct,but with a closer inspection of the premises exposes certain loopholes in the argument. The author needs to address certain assumptions by strong evidence or data in order to support the argument.

Firstly,the author states two other county examples having passed similar laws ,but getting different housing prices trends.However,these laws as been passed 10 and 15 years before which raises their credibility. It is highly likely that circumstances must be different at those times which may not apply now.Another possibility is that county experiencing higher housing prices may have higher population than other with lower population where prices remained almost same.Therefore,the author needs to provide a more recent example or study for doing proper comparative analysis for the recommendation.

Futhermore,the author states that banning development on farmland will increase the housing prices.However,the author has not provided any substantial information or evidence supporting the argument.It may be possible that sufficient housing property is already available in the county for everyone.The author needs to properly scrutinize the housing demand in the county through reliable studies or strong statistical evidences.Additonally,it may be possible that farmlands used for housing may be not fertile and would provide more revenue when used as housing property.Therefore,having a proper study of county's farmlands usage on housing will surely clear out many loophols,strengthening the recommedation.

In conclusion,the argument could have been more persuasive to readers if author would have used recent studies and statistical evidences for supporting the argument. Moreover,the author needs to provide more detail for the direct relationship between the farmland usage and the housing prices in county.The author could have strengthen his argument by documenting its important assumptions with data or surveys.