The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Writer of this letter is anxious about the density of the island and the possible conclusions that derive from this density at summer seasons. As it is stated that mopeds are used as a popular form of transformation at Balmer Island. He thinks that if population increases, then the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians will also increase ,so the number of mopeds rented by the island’s moped rental companies should be decreased. However, town council of Balmer island should answer the following questions and then should make their decision according to the answers of these questions.

First of all, town council should ask the following: “Are we sure that traffic accidents spring from the increase on total number of mopeds that are rented at summer?”. If the answer is no to this question, then some other reasons should be thought. Maybe, the main reason of the traffic accident is the young children of the vacationers that comes to Balmer island at summer. Maybe they use these mopeds carelessly and they don’t even have driver licence. If this is so, instead of limitation the number of renting, the usage of mopeds by the noneligible driver should be prohibited.

Secondly, if the answer to the above question is yes, then the following question should be asked: ”Can we really decrease the total number of mopeds at the island with this new regulation?”. People of the Balmer island may have tendency to resort to illegal ways under some restricting conditions or maybe there will be the increase of the number of the rental companies which they just rent mopeds up to 25, but the total number of mopeds that are rented may have higher than previous level. So the council should take this reasoning into the consideration and then should take any action after this reasoning.

Finally, the council should be aware of the fact that things may change. If it is achieved at the Seaville, there is no guarantee that Balmer island’s people give the same reaction to this limitation. Seaville island and Balmer island may have extremely different geoghraphic conditions. So it is not logical to make same decision by just looking at the results. I am not asserting that after this regulation the total number of the accidents will not reduce, maybe it will reduce more than Seaville but the point that I want to reach is that the differences should also be taken into consideration in the different places.

All in all, before putting this recommendation into the action, the council of Balmer island should make such reasoning that they should be sure whether asserted reason is the main reason and then if it is so, then they should be sure whether the recommended solution is the optimal one. Moreover they shouldn’t miss out the fact that things may change and people’s reaction cannot be the same at everywhere.