The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the preceding statement, the author claims that since the number of skateboarding has been increased in the Plaza, the number of shoppers has been decreased. Therefore, he suggests prohibiting skateboarding in the Plaza in order to the prosperity of business owner in the Plaza again. Though his claim may well have merit, the author presents a poorly reasoned argument, based on several questionable premises and assumptions, and based solely on the evidence the author offers, we cannot accept his argument as valid.

To begin with, the author used many vague expressions and numbers; what does the author mean by the number of shoppers or a dramatic increase in the popularity of skateboarding? Either a decrease in the number of shoppers or a dramatic increase in the popularity of skateboarding can range from 1 to 1000 or any other number. For example, if there was a considerable change in the number of shoppers, suppose 500, and a conspicuous change in the number of skateboard users, suppose 1000, it may have been more convincible for readers. Thus, the author should answer the question that what exactly he means by the word decrease or dramatic increase In numbers.

Additionally, the author argues that as the number of skateboard users is an uprising, store owners’ business is declining. The question is that what kind of products or services are selling in the central Plaza stores? Are they selling primary-needed or amusable products? Answering to this question can determine if shoppers of the center of plaza had been used to go to the center for the purpose of shopping for their primary-need; such as; food or clothes, or to fill their sense of amusement I.e. three-dimensional cinema, or coffee shop and so forth. Answering to this question, clarify whether shoppers have found other source of pleasure; which is skateboarding, instead of going to the center of plaza stores or, on the other hand, they do not go for shopping because of skateboard users.

Moreover, the author claims that increase in litter and vandalism in the city is due to the dramatic increase in the number of skateboard users. Again, he should answer what he means by the word increase in exact numbers, for example, if just one, it would be negligible.

In sum, the author illogical argument is based on unsupported assumptions and is rife with holes and unanswered questions. If the author truly hopes to change his readers' minds on the issue, he would have to largely restructure his argument, fix the flaws in his logic, clearly explicate his assumptions, and provide evidentiary support. Without these things, his poorly reasoned argument will likely convince few people.