The following appeared in a letter to the editor of theBalmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument has failed to convince us that by lowering the number of mopeds in Balmer Island, it is possible to lower the number of accident. The argument, as it stands, is based on questionable assumptions and a faulty line of reasoning, a fact that renders it over-simplistic and unconvincing.

To begin with, the author draws a cause and effect relationship between the number of mopeds in the Balmer Island and the number of accidents. To elucidate on, the direct nexus between the two is falsely assumed. Simply put, the author failed to take into account other factors that could play a role. What if accidents were caused by imprudent and careless drivers. What if the road surface was not of good material that could cause frustration and anxiety for drivers? Not to mention the mere fact that if the pedestrians’ walkway is separated from the mopeds roadway, the risk of such accident would approach to zero. In a nutshell, the author falsely assumes that the only cause for the accidents is the number of vehicles. At last, If the author had enumerated the mentioned evidence and factors the argument would have been stronger.

Next, the arguer suggests that due to the fact that the Island of Seaville had gone through a similar condition and had used the reduction of number of mopeds, as the solution, a year ago, the Isalnd of Balmer has to concede the similar solution. Forgetting to take into account that things change after time and the fact that apples are not oranges, the author uses the Seaville example to convince the reader. What if the Seaville Island had legislated new rules too? What if the drivers had to go through to a whole another different type of qualification before getting and driver’s license? What if the pedestrians, peoples, also helped along the path, for instance, took precautions, to reduce the probability of accidents. Moreover, the author is comparing Seaville Island’s solution after one year. To scrutinize, so many things could have changed in one year. Maybe even the Seaville society is looking for a new way to reduce the number of accidents, just because of the fact that the last one was far from useless. Above all, the author fails to consider other factors that could play a role and the fact that things change over time. If the argument had included what has been mentioned above, it would have been more strengthened.

To conclude, based on substantial assumption and poor evidence, the arguer’s reasoning does not provide concrete support for his/her conclusion. If the argument had included the items discussed, it would have been more thorough and convincing.