The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

The faculty committee's idea to institute a free-tuition policy for it's professors might help in enhancing the faculties morale and bring in new professors but the basis of there conclusion needs some thorough investigation and testing.

To start with, the conclusion is based upon a survey conducted exclusively by Oceania University for there professors entailing in the thoughts of professors of 'a' university. There is nothing in the letter that talks about/corroborates on the similarities/differences of both the universities: Does the university teach the same curriculum ; Is the demographic of the professors similar?.

Moreover, the letter is based on the assumption that Seatown's professor demographic is exacting to Oceania's and what holds good for latter would work good for the former as well. If Seatown's majority of the professors are young and unmarried, providing a tuition-free for their offspring's would not bring any immediate benefit rather they would be more jovial to see housing benefits.There needs to be a survey conducted to understand the needs of the professors in Seatown and drive plans towards incorporating the need of the hour.

Also, We need to understand the participation of the survey conducted by Oceania University; If only a handful of professors filled in the survey, there is a high probability that the retention policy might not hold good for the rest. We need to affirmation from the professors that adding these benefits really is a game changer for them rather than any run-of-the-mill add-on in the benefits list.

Having said that, in order to increase the retention or professors and luring in new ones the faculty committee needs to bolster there assessment with thorough research and clear assumptions on which the current conclusion hinges upon.