The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Movies Galore’s movie rental store has been seeing a decline in their monthly profit which made them analyze their business strategy. The analyst has given a few solutions to increase thi store’s profits. The reasons where in the memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore who believes these solutions will help him achieve the required motive.

Firstly, Movies Galore plans on reducing its operational hours. They are going to cut three hours of their working time, which they believe will reduce their operational cost. This became their option because they are already famous for their low cost and increasing the price may dampen their sales. Though this is a well thought plan, it does not take into account the possibility that people may prefer buying DVDs while they are on their way back home from work. As the store was previously opened till 9:00 pm, it allowed people to buy movies so they can watch it at night, especially during weekends. Closing the store at 6:00 pm can reduce the influx of customers.

Along with closing the store early, Movies Galore claim they have already taken this measure along with reducing their DVD stocks, they no longer have DVDs that are more than five years old. This step, though taken in downtown Marston turned to benefit the store there; it may not be the case elsewhere. Galore claims this to be the best strategy because there have been fewer companies. There can be any reasons behind this type of response.

For instance, the people who did not complain could be the ones waiting for the store to be back at its best, so as to provide the earlier amenities. They may be simply being patient and waiting for things to be right and must have not complained because they are a regular and do not want to lose any premium benefits they once received.

There is no mention of how the complaint was received, whether it was a written or an oral survey; as people tend to shy away when they are directly asked to tell their review verbally. Many people tend to smile, nod and say pleasant things, for they may not want to hurt someone’s feelings or earn a bad face value.

Galore claims that their profit is declining, but there is no reason given behind it. If they were famous and well appreciated by people because of their low rates, it is strange that they are no longer producing profits even when they had a good collection of movies along with a longer working time. Maybe the worker demanded a hike in their salary which made the owner of the Galore think of a way to lay their demands down. If they show that their sales are low and profit is nearly zero, no worker would have the audacity to ask for a hike and the Board members of the company will get the highest share of the profit.

The strategies though sound appealing, are too good to be true because lot of factors are either missed or simple ignored for consideration. Hence, it is too soon to say if the strategy opted by the owner is the best one they have come up with yet.