The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of

video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain

how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The Owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores argues that by reducing the operating expenses they could prevent the loses they are facing in there business. The evidence and supporting information given to implicate that the owners business stategy should be applied in all the 10 stores they own is full of loop holes and flowes.

Firstly, inorder to prevent loses the owner suggest to reduce the operating expenses. There is no proper explanation on what are the other choices he had to prevent the loses. The article directly jumps to a single conclusion without referring to other possible ways available to make more profit. The owner argues that people at there stores are very found of bargening and buying the product hence they cannot increase the rental prices. But the arresting point is did they do a proper survey. There might be some famous videos which are overrated and most of the other videos are not and only few people who want to buy those overated videos might indulge in to bargenning and rest wont mind. Owners claim here is very quixotic.

Secondly, Owner provides a supporting event that their store at downtown Marstone decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 pm rather than 9:00 pm. Making a conclusion due to the profit caused just in one days change is quite not right. There is a possibility that this trick might only work for this store. For example, It might so happen that more customer visit this store before 6 and this might not be true for other stores. There is a probable case where the strength of customers vary with time and place and hence the other stores may not gain the same amount of profit.

The owner also claims that eliminating all movies realised more than five years ago increased there profit. But applying this to other stores might not be a good idea. For example, this sttategy whould lead to a loss if the other stores are often visited by customers who are found of old songs. The people usually like to listen to music or videos of there generation rather than of new generations. Hence we do not know. The new movies might be the trending ones but eleminating all the 5 year old movies is a bad idea because there will definitely be some great movies released during that period and we cannot boycott them just because they are old.

Finally, I stongly believe that Owner must not decide to impose the same trick on all the stores. Inorder to have increased profits in all the stores owner must do some proper surve and study the customers in different stores and also make a not of type of movies most sold in those stores.